Welcome Back

It’s been so long since I’ve sat down to write that I’m really not sure how to begin.  I guess the best way to get going again is the same way that I got going in the first place.  Just write.  So here goes…

It’s been 3 ½ months since my last post on the blog, and a lot has happened since then.  My absence was not because I ran out of ideas for writing and it was not because I lost the desire.  To put it simply, several major things have happened that jumped ahead of writing on my priority list.  Let me try to catch you up.

Many of you already now that early in 2013 my mother was diagnosed with myelodysplastic syndrome, MDS, a rare blood disease (most people know about MDS because of Robin Robert’s battle with the disease) which caused the doctors to estimate she had 12-18 months to live without treatment.  At the end of May she was admitted to the Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville for a bone marrow stem cell transplant.  The transplant has been a long and difficult process, however I am happy to report that so far Mom is doing very well and should be able to come home sometime toward the end of September.

For most of the summer our family (my wife Leigh Anne, our son Haddon and myself) has been traveling back and forth to Jacksonville every other week to stay with and care for my mother.  However, a few weeks ago, Leigh Anne began having complications with the pregnancy of our second son, Chasen.  Because of pre-term labor she has been placed on bed rest for the next 7 weeks or so.  As you can imagine, this brought our time in Jacksonville to an abrupt end.

On top of everything else, my laptop died this summer, forcing me to do all my word processing on my office desktop at the church!  Needless to say, I haven’t had much time for extra writing when I actually do make it into the office.

I write all of this because my awesome wife has helped me resurrect my old MacBook so that I can start writing again in my downtime at home.  Thankfully, after a busy summer, I have a lot to write about. Hopefully in the next few days I will be able to start posting some new articles on the blog and hopefully begin to regain some readers.

Prayers for Leigh Anne, Chasen, and Mom are still appreciated.  Even through everything that has happened and is happening, God remains faithful and has shown Himself gracious in a multitude of new ways to me.  I look forward to being able to share some of this with you soon.

In Christ Alone,

Chip

About chipparker

Husband, Father, Pastor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome Back

  1. Steven Ruff says:

    Good to see writing again. Praying for you all.

    Steven

Leave a Reply

